The Producers

Shanghai SIIC NWE Culture Development Co. in association with Selladoor Worldwide present
The Producers

Based on Mel Brooks' much-loved Academy Award winning movie, The Producers tells the comedic tale of Max Bialystock, the one­-time producing tycoon of Broadway who desperately needs to make his fortune and Leo Bloom, the innocent but ambitious accountant with his own dreams of becoming a Broadway producer. Together they discover that their fortunes may lie in producing a flop rather than a hit and begin the hunt for the worst show, worst director, and worst actors of all time. Unfortunately for them, their dismal new production, Springtime for Hitler, ends up a smash-hit sensation, throwing their lives and all their fool proof plans into disarray.

Selladoor Worldwide toured a brand-new production of The Producers in Autumn 2017. The laugh-out-loud musical spectacle opened at Shanghai Culture Square prior to a 14-week tour of China. This tour marked Selladoor Worldwide’s eighth international tour since 2014 as part of an ongoing international strategy.

The original film won an Oscar for Best Writing, Story, and Screenplay in 1969. Gene Wilder was nominated for an Oscar for Best Supporting Actor. The musical debuted on Broadway in 2001 and garnered 15 Tony nominations, of which it scooped 12 of them.

The Producers cast includes Richard Morse (Max Bialystock),  Richard Meek (Leo Bloom), Sam Wingfield (Ula), Scott Armstrong (Franz Liebkind), Jason Winter (Carmen Ghia) and Leo Andrew (Roger De Bris) with David Pendlebury, Sarah Dearlove, Luke Harley, Kerry Spark , Becky Anderson, Kelsie-Rae Marshall, Megan Armstrong, Siobhan Diffin, Evan James, Kate Hurley , Frankie Jones, Katrina Dix, Louise Dalton, James-Paul McAllister, Brian O’Muiri, Ashley Daniels, Jasmine Avis and Callum Elson in the ensemble.

Music and lyrics by Mel Brooks. Book by Mel Brooks and Thomas Meehan. Produced by Selladoor Worldwide; Tara Wilkinson directs alongside Mark Crossland as Musical Supervisor and Matthew Cole as Choreographer with lighting design by Charlie Morgan Jones, sound design by Chris Whybrow, design by Matthew Deely, costume design by Stewart Charlesworth and costume supervision by Alice Lessing.